Humble Pie

I had the worst/funniest pie baking experience this week. The end result looks like this and is actually pretty tasty:

Watermelon Chiffon Pie

But most of the time, the process looked like this:

Too bad I didn't photograph the terror in my eyes at this point...

And at one point like this, but all over the kitchen floor:

A total mess. It didn’t help that I started making it at 11 p.m., that I was making a kind of pie (chiffon) that I’d never made before and that I don’t have an electric mixer which it turns out was key.

The whole disaster was actually kind of funny because I went into this endeavor totally smug. I was actually writing the blog post in my head in my best Real Simple Magazine editor’s voice about how pretty it would be, and how tasty it would be and how all of your family members at Easter would be impressed by your innovative thinking, using watermelon in a pie.

I also snubbed the pre-made graham cracker crust at the store because I’m just toooo authentic for that. Here’s proof:

Frankly, the crust is my favorite part of the whole pie and I will definitely make this crust again and highly recommend it.

Basically, I think the trauma of attempting this pie was just my bad, snobby karma. Lesson learned universe.

Anyway, the idea of a watermelon pie is kind of fun and summer-y, and maybe you’ll have a better experience than I did, so click forward for the recipe. Graham Cracker Crust

  • 1 and 3/4 cups of graham cracker crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (which I didn’t have so I used sugar in the raw and it was fine.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 stick of butter, melted

Step 1: Pre-heat oven to 350 and butter your pie pan.

Step 2: Combine the graham cracker crumbs (or if you’re me, create the graham cracker crumbs out of 13 graham crackers and a food processor) sugar, cinnamon and butter. Mix with your hands, it’s more fun that way.

Step 3: Spread the crumbs through the plan, press them into the bottom and up the sides. Refrigerate for 10 minutes, then stick in the oven for about 7-10 minutes. Set aside while you make the filling (which if your me will span a day and a half and be really traumatizing.)

Watermelon Chiffon Pie

  • 6 cups of watermelon flesh (seeds are nothing to worry about, you’ll strain them out.)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 envelopes of unflavored gelatin
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice (I think I actually used 2)
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 cup heavy cream or whipped cream (I recommend going the whipped cream route… the heavy cream route caused me much stress.)
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar

Step 1: Scoop out the watermelon (this is sooo fun) and combine the 6 cups of flesh with the granulated sugar ina  big bowl. Mash it up until it’s really liquidy and set it aside for 15 minutes. After it sits for a bit strain it and save 3 cups of the juice. You can throw out the remaining flesh… personally, if it wasn’t the tail end of lent, I would have filled the bowl of leftover watermelon with vodka and had a party.

Step 2: Put 1/4 cup of the juice in a bowl, sprinkle the gelatin on top of it and try really hard not to forget about it. Let it sit for 3 minutes. (I let it sit wayy longer than that. This was the beginning of the trouble.) While it’s sitting there, heat 1/2 cup of the juice in a pan until it boils. Combine it with the gelatin and then pour the rest of the juice in with it. Stir it up and throw in the lime juice. Stir it some more and put in the refrigerator. Note — at this point do not “get tired” and go to bed and think that the mixture will be ok until the morning because I learned that it will definitely not be ok…

Step 3: Using an electric mixer (and not, as I attempted, your own hand power) beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Then do the same with the heavy cream. (Don’t combine the two — use separate bowls.) Add the confectioners sugar to the cream, stir it up and refrigerate it.

Step 4: When the watermelon juice starts to gel — in about an hour — add the whipped cream and blend until creamy, then fold in the egg whites with a spatula. Pour the mixture into your crust. Try not to spill it all over the kitchen floor as you transfer it to the refrigerator. Let it refrigerate for at least 4 hours. Garnish with something pretty like strawberries and sprinkled powdered sugar.

3 Comments

Filed under pie

3 responses to “Humble Pie

  1. grammy

    Meg….Ive been laughing so much reading your comments as you write the receipe!! So funny to think of you taking a nap in middle of making the pie….and enjoying getting into the melon with your hands!! Back in the days when I made meat loaf, half the fun was mixing everything up in a bowl with my hands and when I made home made bread, kneading the dough was soothing to a troubled spirit.
    You really should put togther a pie cook book along with all your trial and errors…..but wait, thats what you are doing with your blog!
    I do want to try your rubarb and Humble Pie for sure. Also tks for the pics of you work as you go….just like Betty Crocker!

    • meganirwin

      Ha, glad my misadventure was at least entertaining! You’ll definitely get to have the rhubarb pie. I told mom that if everyone tells me their favorite pie I will make a bunch of different kinds for the cousin reunion in June (which I hope is really happening!)

  2. Pingback: Vegan chocolate pie. (Yep, vegan.) | Sweat and Sweets

Leave a Reply

