Pear, Brie, Raspberry Turnovers

Today was extremely busy (I randomly decided to steam clean the carpets. Why? Temporary insanity….) so I’m just gonna get down to business with this post. I wanted to make a mango-apricot pie this week — mostly because there’s not a lot of fruit in season — but Oliver saved me from myself and requested turnovers instead.

They were fun to make. I got to test out a new kind of pastry made with cream cheese and I also get to now have a delicious calorie-filled breakfast before my long run tomorrow. (You’d think that I should be gaining a bajillion pounds with this pie-baking habit, but I’ve actually lost 15… so, running for the win.)

The recipe makes four... I got hungry before I took this photo.

Backhanded bragging aside, here are the goods:

Cream Cheese Pastry

Ingredients:


  • 1 stuck of unsalted butter — leave it out for a while so it gets soft
  • 4 ounces of full fat cream cheese
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon powdered sugar
  • 1.5 cups of all purpose flower

Step 1: mix the softened butter and softened cream cheese together with the salt in a large bowl. Turns out, the temperature really matters and so learn from my mistakes and don’t melt the butter in the microwave. It made the pastry kind of crumbly and harder to work with.

Step 2: Stir in the sugar and the flour. I mixed it in half a cup at a time which seemed to work well. When it clumps together, knead it a couple times, then split into four pieces. Roll ’em into balls, squish ’em into disks, wrap in wax paper and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Turnover insides – yum, yum

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons of flour and 2 teaspoons of sugar in the raw combined in a small bowl
  • smooshed up raspberries (I didn’t measure how much I used. The recipe in the book calls for raspberry preserves, but I opted to just go for fresh ones and skip the extra sugar.)
  • 1 large pear, peeled (ugh! Hate peeling!), cored and sliced as thin as you can.
  • 8 slices of brie
  • A little bit of milk to glaze the turnovers with.

It was hard not to just eat these flat out...

Step 1: Have you waited at least an hour since making your pastry before taking this step? Good, you’re ready to go then. Roll out the dough, one circle at a time. Roll it out on a piece of wax paper, sprinkled with flour. Aim to roll 8 inch circles. I personally find this really hard to do, but maybe you’re more graceful than me. I did figure out by the fourth turnover that it’s good to roll these pretty thin.

Step 2: Once you have your dough circle (btw, I cheated and cut off the ugly raggedy edges so that I would actually have a circle) put a small spoonful of the raspberries in the center and smear them around. Sprinkle them with the flour/sugar mixture. Arrange a single roll of pear slices over half the dough, leaving yourself a border for when you fold them over. Layer a slice or two of brie on top. Should look like this:

This one was a little too full...

Step 3: Moisten the edges of the dough and fold it over. Neat trick — fold the wax paper with the dough then peel it back. Pinch/roll the edges together and put on a buttered cookie sheet. You’re going to repeat these steps three more times, but first, pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees.

Step 4: After you roll the next three turnovers, glaze them with milk, sprinkle them with sugar, poke some holes in the top with a fork. Then put them in the oven for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, turn the heat down to 375 degrees and cook for 20 more.

Step 5: Brag to your significant other, family and/or friends about your awesome turnovers and enjoy!

9 Comments

Filed under pie

9 responses to “Pear, Brie, Raspberry Turnovers

  1. leesa irwin

    i see a recipe book in your future

    • meganirwin

      Well, to do that I’d have to invent my own pie combos… I’m pretty much working my way through my awesome pie cookbook right now. I tweak a lot of the recipes because the author has a REALLY big sweet tooth and adds tons of sugar to everything, but I’m still mostly just going by the book. I can see myself making up some recipes for fruit pies this summer though because they’re so easy to make and so hard to get wrong…

  2. Mary

    These look way too delicious to even be real.

    • meganirwin

      Oh, they’re real Miss Mary… I’m eating one right now! This is the pattern I’ll follow for your savory pie which I’m thinking I will make out of yams (if you like them), onion, broccoli, carrots and just a little bit of sharp cheddar cheese. Thoughts? If you don’t like yams, I’ll use potatoes.

  3. Mary

    Also, Tillamook. We so live in the same state.

    • meganirwin

      Oregon love! As soon as marionberries are in season I have an Oregon themed pie ready to go….What would I put in an Arizona themed pie do you think? Something with Prickly Pear fruit? Or some kind of citrus chiffon pie?

  4. Mary

    I have heard so much about Oregon berries. Am I going to be able to experience them before I leave early June? Prickly pear pie would be amazing. We can also garnish it with sliced lemons and strawberries and blueberries to replicate the flag.

    • meganirwin

      Hmmm…. I think berry season really picks up mid summer, but maybe in future years you’ll stay through the summer and get to go. Picking berries is less fun than it sounds though because the bushes all have thorns, so you get really scratched up and get a sore back from bending over all day picking… so don’t feel too sad.

Leave a Reply

