Megan’s Mango-Berry-Coconut Lazy Person’s Pie

Even Nacho liked it

I’ve been procrastinating posting about this pie for a few days, but now I’m procrastinating something else (which is what happens when I start working at 7 a.m. By noon, I’m sure that I “deserve” a break) so here we go.

Saturday I was the laziest person who ever lazed about. I slept in until noon and then watched four episodes in a row of Buffy the Vampire Slayer before even getting up to brush my teeth. I really needed the sleep and rest, but by the time early evening rolled around I was feeling mighty gross so to reclaim a shred of self esteem I went for a run and then decided I needed to bake. Sometimes when I spend all day doing nothing it makes me feel better to produce something tangible so that I can say the day wasn’t a total waste.

So this pie was special for three reasons. One: it made me feel less lazy and lame. Two: I made up the recipe on my own (except the crust). Three: It turned out sooooooooooo good. Check it out:

I’d been wanting to make a mango pie for a while just because it seems so unexpected. The pie book I use as my baker’s bible has a recipe for mango-apricot pie so I set out to make that. But then I remembered that apricots are not in season and are kind of gross, so I got creative and decided to use blueberries and raspberries instead. Fruit pies are hard to screw up if you know the basics and really easy to make up so I highly encourage you to try your own fruit combos.

Filling ingredients:

  • 2 cups of fresh diced mangoes
  • 2 cups of fresh blueberries
  • 2 cups of fresh raspberries
  • 1/8 cup of sugar in the raw
  • 1/8 cup of flour
  • lemon juice (as much as you like. I squeezed half a lemon in there)

I kept the filling really simple here. All three of these fruits are really naturally sweet and I didn’t want to overshadow that so I added minimal sugar  to the mix and the result was a pie where you could really taste the flavors of the fruits blending together instead of the sugar. Yum. The flour is just there to help hold these very juicy fruits together. Some people use cornstarch and that’s fine. Some people use tapioca and that’s gross. There is basically one step to make this filling: mix the ingredients together and let them sit for 15 minutes before pouring them into the pie shell.

I always know I'm making a good pie when I want to eat the ingredients out of the bowl...

For my crust I used my basic flaky crust recipe. For some reason this time it turned out to be my best crust ever. I think it’s because when I cut in the fat I completely kneaded in the butter until it was pea sized and then mixed in the vegetable shortening and something about them not blending together made the crust great.

I’ve posted this crust recipe before, but here’s a quick refresher:

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1/2 stick of cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 cup of cold vegetable shortening, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 cup cold water

Step 1: Combine the flour and sugar in a large bowl and mix well. Scatter the butter over the flour and mix in with your hands until it is broken up into the size of small peas. Do the same thing again with the shortening. Mix in the water a tablespoon at a time until the mixture comes together into a nice ball.

Step 2: Flatten the ball into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap and put in the refrigerator for at least an hour.

Step 3: After at least an hour roll out using the technique you can learn about here and get it into the pan. For this pie, you’ll want to stick it in the freezer for 15 minutes (perhaps while you mix together the fruit) which will help it keep its form and stand up to the fruit juice you’re going to put into it. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Has your pie crust frozen for 15 minutes? Has your fruit mixture been sitting for 15 minutes as well? Great! Dump that mixture into the crust and bake it at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. While it’s doing that, make your crumble topping. I really need to bake a pie with a regular top crust soon, but I couldn’t resist falling back on the crumble again because a) I am lazy and b) coconut + mango just made sense. Go here to learn to make it.

After 30 minutes, spread the crumble on top of the fruit and bake for 30 more minutes. The result is delicious. See?

8 Comments

Filed under pie

8 responses to “Megan’s Mango-Berry-Coconut Lazy Person’s Pie

  1. Emily

    This pie sounds fantastic! I can’t wait to try a one of your pies.

  2. Mary Smith

    This sounds like it’ll be my favorite pie of yours. YUM.

    • meganirwin

      I was thinking it would look really pretty with a lattice top because you could see all the red and yellow insides through the top. I think I’ll make it for the party in a few weeks.

  3. grammy

    Its true….each new pie you make looks and sounds better than the one before….its cute that Nacho thinks so too!! That’s gonna be some party with all your pies and then Em’s cupcakes….who needss reg. food??
    And I just love your way of telling us how to make the pie…reminds me of Julia Child with her instructions with lots of fun!! Hurry home

  4. Hi Megs!!
    Just discovered your blog. So fun to see what you have been up to! Know what would make that pie even better? Substituting coconut oil for that vegetable shortening. Want some? email me back and I’ll send you some Kelapo Coconut Oil 🙂

    • meganirwin

      Alison! Hi! I was thinking about you the other day — I randomly looked up the Stone Ashley building in Tucson… I actually have a recipe for crust that uses vegetable oil that I’d love to substitute coconut oil for. Messaging you right now…

Leave a Reply

