Pizza, Pizza

This is my second time making this pastry — the first time I liked it so much Oliver and I devoured it before I could even snap a photo. I’m glad I took a week to think about how to make this version turn out even better because it gave me the chance to think about how to improve some of the details (hello, agave “sauce”) and get a little better at hand molding the crust. This is another one that’s quasi-improvised — the crust is from my pie cookbook, but the topping I made up because once again Ken Haedrich and I disagree on the amount of sugar you need to add to fruit to make it taste good. (Hint: none.)

This fruit pizza is SUPER easy to make and would be perfect to bring to a summer BBQ to impress your friends with almost no effort.

I wish you could smell this as well as see it right now. It seriously smells SO good. Can't wait to eat.

I started baking this after a day out with Oliver that ended in happy hour, so I got a little loopy with the pictures…enjoy!

Yeasted Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of yeast
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 5 tablespoons of cold butter
  • 1/2 cup warm water

Step 1: Mix the yeast and warm water — stir quickly with a fork — let it sit for 5 minutes

Step 2: Mix the flour, sugar and salt together in a bowl and add the butter. Mush it together until the butter is pea sized.

I know you all know how to sift flour, but I had to put this in because don't I look like Nanny from Muppet Babies?!

 

Step 3: Mix the egg yolk into the yeast water. It will look really gross. See?

All I could think here was how I used to play Truth or Dare with my middle school friends and we would mix together the nastiest possible drinks and dare each other to drink them. Yeast and egg water would have been a GREAT and disgusting dare.

Step 4: Mix the egg-yeast-water in with the flour. It is really sticky. I was not feeling it, but I’m anti-food processor for making pie crust and I wasn’t gonna give in today.

You could use this exact mix at your next Halloween haunted house right next to the peeled grapes that represent eyeballs. It feels gross, but it tastes good.

Step 5: Roll it in a ball, put it in a bowl, cover with wax paper and let it rise someplace warm for an hour.

Step 6: After an hour roll it out onto wax paper. It’s going to be sticky so I recommend being liberal with the amount of flour you cover the wax paper and your rolling pin with. Try to keep it the same thickness.  Once your crust is rolled out turn it over onto a greased cookie sheet and peel the paper off.

Step 7: Mold the edges of the crust into a free standing crust, like a pizza. I find this is easiest to accomplish by rolling it up then pinching it into the shape you want. Stick the crust in the freezer for 15 minutes. This make it a little bit sturdier before you put the fruit in it.

Step 8: Once you’re done making the filling, take the crust out of the freezer and brush it with agave (or honey if you want) syrup, then arrange the filling on top.

Speaking of the filling… I feel silly even making an ingredients list or telling you what steps to take because you literally just cut up some fruit that you like and let it juice in a bowl for a while. I decided to use peaches, strawberries and blueberries.

I was really happy with the strawberries I found -- they were actually ripe for once. CAN'T WAIT for it to really be summer berry season.

Step 9: After you’ve arranged your fruit as artfully as you can, drizzle more agave (or honey) on top and put in the oven (preheated to 400 degrees) for 15 minutes. After the first 15 minutes, turn the oven down to 375 and rotate your pizza 180 degrees to help it cook evenly. Let it cook another 10 minutes before taking it out.

Step 10: Let it cool about 20 minutes, heap some peaches and cream ice cream on top and pig out!

1 Comment

Filed under pie

One response to “Pizza, Pizza

  1. Gram

    LOL….Megs, I do hope when you put all of these to a receipe book you have it exactly like you have given it all to us!!! Wouldnt be the same without the pics and comments as you go!! You are gonna be so busy baking for the Cousins Party,!! :}

Leave a Reply

