Vegan chocolate pie. (Yep, vegan.)

So, embarrassing confession time: I have a total 13-year-old girl crush on Scott Jurek. (For those of you who actually knew me when I was 13 … this is pretty much the same kind of crush I once had on Leonardo DiCaprio — without the posters on the wall.) I just really admire him as an athlete. And also as a babe.

Despite the embarrassing side effects of having a pretend crush on a (marginally) famous person I’ll never meet, there is an upside. I’m feeling inspired by his plant-based diet and have been eating even healthier than normal. But not SO healthy that I’m willing to give up baking or eating pies, so I was really thrilled when I found this mousse recipe on my new favorite blog No Meat Athlete. The baker who invented it eventually turned it into a pie recipe, which I used for inspiration, but adapted to make my own. (Also, hers was too Christmas-y for a 90 degree day in September with no air conditioning.)

The secret weapon in this chocolate pie? Avocado. Yeah, I was skeptical too.

Seriously skeptical.

I added a banana to the mix (which was made of 3 big avocados) because… I guess for no reason except it felt right. Here are the other ingredients I used: 1/4 cups peanut butter, 7 oz of semi-sweet baker’s chocolate, a tablespoon of vegetable oil and a tablespoon of vanilla extract. This is so easy to make I feel weird even posting steps. Basically just whip up the avocados until they don’t have any lumps. Melt the chocolate (I just did it in the microwave) and mix it with the oil. After it’s good and melted mix the chocolate and the avocado.

Turned me into a believer.

Once that’s good and blended, mix in the banana, peanut butter and vanilla extract. Keep whipping it up really well so it’s smooth. When it’s nice and smooth and looks good to you, pour it into the pie shell and chill for at least 2 hours.

I made the graham cracker crust from scratch because I refuse to buy store bought crust on principal, using this recipe. To keep things vegan, I used cold coconut oil instead of butter. (It turns into a solid in the refrigerator so you can use it the same way you’d use butter or shortening in pie.)

Ready to go into the food processor. To make this crust just chop12 graham crackers in a food processor, mix together with butter (or whatever fat you want to use to hold it together) and press into your pie dish. Bake it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I like to put mine in the freezer after they bake so that they hold their shape when I put the filling in.

All that weirdness turned into this. And we ate every bite (over a series of days guys, jeez, don’t judge.) This is the best result I’ve ever gotten from a ridiculous pretend crush.

11 Comments

Filed under pie, Running, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Vegan chocolate pie. (Yep, vegan.)

  1. Looks Yummy! But, which KIND of coconut oil did you use?!! πŸ™‚

  2. grammy

    Oh ,Yummoooo! You know how I adore anything with peanut butter….and combined with chocolate, banana, and now avacodo will be one Im anxious to try. (My fav breakfast is whole wheat toast with peanut butter and bananas, and chocolate chips if I have them.)
    Your mini pies are adorable and so pretty!! We are just gonna have to have you make the mini pies in Dec. so everyone can have their fav. I dont want to wish time to go fast….but hurry home….we miss you!!! Hugs :}

    • meganirwin

      I’m game! I was just telling mom today that I want to plan a really big holiday party with friends and family. What do you think? I don’t know why, but I kind of feel like going all out this year. I’ll do all the planning/baking and pay the catering if you all think people would come and have fun.

  3. I am SO interested in this pie. Also I laughed out loud about your leo decaprio pictures because I just remember the whole wall was covered in magazine pictures! :]

    • meganirwin

      This pie is interested in you! Seriously, you should make it. It’s really easy and fun. And yeah.. that shrine, was pretty ridiculous right?

  4. abi

    I’m eating roughly paleo, these days. Do you think I could make this in a pyrex without crust? (Is that too sacreligious to ask the queen of pie? ;))

    Because it looks amazing and simple, which is my kind of dessert!

    • meganirwin

      You absolutely could! I’m not sure exactly what it means to be eating paleo… but if it’s a primarily plant based died, check out No Meat Athlete — they have tons of plant based (eg: no animal fat or protein) recipes. I’m eating vegan until the marathon (and maybe beyond, we’ll see) and NMA has been really helpful in making sure I do it “right.”

      • abi

        Cool! Thanks! And paleo actually includes lots of animal fat & protein, as well as lots of plants, and no grains (no agriculture revolution stuff). I’m doing a loose version of it, but it’s been helpful for me in not having sugar crashes, which was my main goal! πŸ™‚

        (I hope my omnivorous ways offend no vegans!)

      • meganirwin

        Ha! I’m the only vegan ’round these parts and I don’t get offended about really anything (food related or otherwise.)

  5. emilycathleen

    Amber and I are on day ten of our 21 day vegan challenge and I’m starting to crave treats more than ever. This recipe inspired me and my goal is to make it as soon as her wisdom teeth heal!

Leave a Reply

