Apple, pear, cranberry

This pie is dedicated to my friend Leslie, who I haven’t seen in far too long. She used to volunteer with my organization and is someone who I met in my second or third week on the job more than three years ago. She’s one of a small group of women who (perhaps unbeknownst to them) helped my survive in Oregon after my mom’s car accident. In those first few months afterwards, trying to navigate the new realities of my life, she and her group of fellow school-district volunteers made me feel safe, like I had people I could count on if I really needed to.

She’s one of the nicest, hardest working people I know. Turns out, she’s a pie-baker too. We were Facebooking (huh. Just realized I hate that this is a verb!) around Christmas about holiday baking and I got this message from her “three words: Pear. Raspberry. Pie.”

Obviously, I had to try it. Can’t find any raspberries anywhere, so I substituted in cranberries since we had some still frozen from Thanksgiving and then I decided to throw some apples into the mix because we have a kajillion of them and even I can’t eat apples fast enough to keep them from rotting.

Almost done - waiting for me to add the lattice top.

I decided to use the crust I used for this pie because I have way too much whole wheat flour and need to get rid of it. I made a lattice top out of a crust I already had in the freezer.  Come to think of it, this whole pie was kind of centered around using up the random ingredients I have laying around.

Filling Ingredients:

4 apples (use whatever kind you like best. I used Pink Lady apples because that’s what we had.)

4 pears

2 cups of cranberries

1/3 cup agave nectar

1.5 tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice (or some mixture of nutmeg and cinnamon if that’s your style. I needed to use up the pumpkin pie spice so…)

I baked it at 375 degrees for about an hour and it must’ve turned out well – Oliver ate a slice about 30 minutes ago, declared himself “so full of food!” and passed out.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Apple, pear, cranberry

  1. Leslie Robinette, APR

    Megan, I am honored by what you wrote about me. I hope you know our North Clackamas team will always stand with you.

    Your pie looks delicious. I once made an apple cranberry pie, but used craisins — also good. Next time, I’m thinking about throwing in some chopped pecans or maybe walnuts. We should get together and do some serious baking, my friend. I’ve missed you.

    • meganirwin

      I would LOVE to get together and bake! I’m sure you’re slammed with work, etc. but if you ever have a free Saturday to make some pies just let me know!

Leave a Reply

