Quick and dirty (the post, not the food.)

Today was National Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie day. Guess who has two pounds of strawberries and four stalks of rhubarb slowly going bad in her refrigerator.

Today was also National Play Outside Day. I went running on a treadmill.

There’s a metaphor or a joke in there somewhere, but I can’t find it.

The day wasn’t a total bust though – after my run, I decided to make granola. (Did so before I showered after the run. There was definitely a smelly hippy making granola joke in there and, unfortunately for me, Oliver did find it. Multiple times. I’m glad he amuses himself…)

I like making granola because it’s easy and you can throw all the almost gone, random spices and nuts you have in the cupboard in to clear out clutter.

I might have gone overboard. We definitely don’t need five jars of granola.

Here’s what went into mine:

  • 8 cups of dry oats. (TOO MANY CUPS! I would have been fine with four.)
  • Pumpkin seeds, like 1/4 cup.
  • Walnuts. Half a cup I think.
  • Two tablespoons of flax seeds. 
  • Some random poppy seeds I found in the cupboard.
  • Two tablespoons of cinnamon. 
  • A tablespoon of nutmeg. 
  • A cup of agave syrup. 
  • A cup of vegetable oil. 
  • Two tablespoons of vanilla. 
  • NO SUGAR! So many recipes call for sugar and I don’t see why you’d need any thing more than the agave, personally.

Here’s how I made it:

  • Step one: Bring the oil, vanilla, agave, cinnamon and nutmeg to a boil in a saucepan.
  • Step two: Mix all the dry goods (oats, nuts, seeds, whatever other randomness you decide to throw in) together in a big bowl.
  • Step three: Pour the boiling contents of the saucepan into the big bowl of oats and nuts. Mix it all up.
  • Step four: Spread the granola mixture onto a couple cookie sheets (that you’ve greased up so the granola doesn’t stick.)
  • Step five: Bake the granola for 20-30 minutes in an oven that you’ve pre-heated to 325 degrees.
  • Step six: Have way too much granola on your hands. Enjoy!

As revenge for all the “smelly hippy” jokes at my expense, please enjoy this adorable photo of O snuggling with our cat, Nacho:

I’m seriously so lucky… both that I have these two in my life and that Oliver doesn’t read this blog…

1 Comment

Filed under cooking things that aren't pie, Life, Running

One response to “Quick and dirty (the post, not the food.)

  1. leesa irwin

    i like how oliver snuggling nacho is below the picture of you snuggling a dog.

Leave a Reply

