Vegan Kick Start – Day 1

I want to eat all these things

Today was the first day of the Vegan Kick Start I committed to as part of my 30 Before 30 list. Don’t worry, I won’t blog every day of it. That would be almost as exhausting – for me and for you – as the amount of cooking I’ll have to do the next 21 days.

I’ve been vegetarian for a decade and I do eat mostly whole/fresh food. However, I have two significant weaknesses that have prevented me from going vegan: ice cream (!!) and cheese (!!!). On my birthday a few days ago, I went to a vegan Italian restaurant that did some amazing cheese-like things with cashews, so perhaps there’s hope.

Since it’s only been a day, I can’t say that I feel any different – though Alicia Silverstone promises I will soon – but what I can say is that this is really going to test my ability to function as an adult human capable of cooking food, which is intimidating.

You might think that this blog’s title implies a fondness for cooking. And you would be wrong. I like to bake. But, when it comes to feeding myself my defaults are:  eat whatever is leftover from the last time Oliver cooked, eat whatever fruit is sitting around, or eat popcorn.Sometimes I’ll make toast. That doesn’t really cut it for this kick start which focuses not just on eliminating animal products, but also on actually being a healthy person. Damn it.

This will be a stretch, but possibly a good one, and if it goes well, maybe I can leave popcorn for dinner behind with my 20s.

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Before 30, cooking things that aren't pie, Life

2 responses to “Vegan Kick Start – Day 1

  1. I love to cook but I will eat popcorn for dinner until the day I die!!!

Leave a Reply

