30 Before 30: In which I do not get eaten by a shark

When I was a little girl I was absolutely terrified of the fish tank aisle of any pet store or Wal Mart. (There were frequent trips to Wal Mart.) I would dare myself to walk down them and then just feel abject terror. So easy to picture the tanks simultaneously shattering and all those nasty little fish getting on me. At Sea World the shark encounter would give me nightmares. It was just so easy to envision the glass breaking, the hammerhead shark bursting forward and biting me in half as its last ask before suffocating.

So, I’m basically the last person you’d expect to go swimming around in the shark infested, fish-filled, coral reefs of Nassau, Bahamas.

But guess what, ya’ll? I DID IT.

And I loved it. Well, there was one huge, mean looking fish, that swam up to me and stared into my soul with his ugly fish eyes…

Besides that though, snorkeling is the best thing in the world. I could have stayed out there for hours. The experience was even cooler because I got to share it with my mom, in her first big one-armed snorkeling extravaganza.

Also, it’s extremely attractive:

All my photos from the trip are Polaroids because I’m THAT girl.

 

4 Comments

Filed under 30 Before 30, Family, Life, travel

4 responses to “30 Before 30: In which I do not get eaten by a shark

  1. Awesome that you went snorkeling! I went to sea world adventure camp in high school and got to go into a dive cage in the shark tank…ok well it wasn’t as cool (or scary?) as that, it was more like an adjoined pool with a wall and bars separating them. It was cool watching caretakers feed the sharks, while in a safe place) while underwater (from other side of tank).
    PS Jellies are more common and more scary to me!

  2. I’m so glad you guys had a good time and I love that your pictures are Polaroids. There’s something about holding physical pictures that I really love.

  3. leesa iewin

    A trip to Maui? Beautiful island and incredible snorkling. We even heard a whale song – well, okay, I didn’t, but other people said they did and I wished I did too
    .

Leave a Reply

