Yikes

Yesterday I ran 9 miles uphill. Amazing and also a tiny bit painful. Why did I do this?  Because I’m a damn fool and I registered for the Mt. Lemmon (half) Marathon – 13.1 miles, all uphill.

Why did I do that? Not totally sure.  I registered for the race in some post-holiday, post-hometown visit, fit of ennui and confusion. I spent 10 days in Tucson this holiday break and it was an awesome-to-weird-to-awkward-to-horrible 10 days. I got back to Portland and immediately wanted a hometown do-over, so I registered for this race.

And now I run hills. Every day. Then I do this:

picture018

We’re watching Lost Girl. Nacho loves it more than I do.

Every day.

Anyone else have a race coming up that you’re simultaniously excited for and terrified about? Details, and training plans please!

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Before 30, Life, Running

2 responses to “Yikes

  1. grammy

    Oh groan, I dont know how you do it!!! But you are young and you can do it!!
    Should we be at the top of Mt. Lemon to see you finish or the bottom to see you begin?? Dont think PaPa will join you on the run this time….he’s 80 dontcha know??? Love you…G

    • meganirwin

      You guys are welcome to wait at the finish line, but you’ll have to wake up really early and drive up – they close the mountain to traffic once the race starts at 6 a.m. I’m not sure if it’s worth it… this will be my 6th half marathon so I don’t need a cheering section the way I did at the Tucson Marathon 🙂 I WILL be excited to see you guys that weekend no matter what though. Love you!

Leave a Reply

